Conference overall theme

The Second International Conference on Education: current and future trends in teaching and teacher training is an opportunity to keep abreast of what is happening in education research, teacher training, and the teaching profession, to explore current issues, and to contemplate new and promising directions for research and development.

The overall scientific objective of this International Conference is to spark intellectually informed discussions and reflections under the five following themes:

  1. Teacher training programs (initial and ongoing)

  2. Professional insertion

  3. Education interventions

  4. The teaching career

  5. Digital learning

These themes are parts of a continuum that covers the teaching career pathway: 1) taking a teacher training program; 2) entering the profession; 3) carrying out professional duties in interaction with other schools and educational actors, aiming to help students succeed academically; and 4) performing one’s job within the education system. To these we have added a fifth theme: 5) Digital learning, which is becoming a must in the educational field.

This Conference also has objectives that are relevant to the larger scientific community. We have targeted the three following objectives:

  1. Bring together researchers from around the world to pool their expertise and share their work and knowledge, participate in fruitful discussions, and stimulate advances in common research themes and objectives.

  2. Ensure transfer of the latest knowledge on teacher training, professional insertion, educational intervention, the teaching profession, and digital learning to partners and public organizations operating in the educational field, and to other education stakeholders, including teachers, educators, and administrators.

  3. Build an international network of collaborations and partnerships with researchers and diverse education stakeholders in Québec and beyond.

Conference Themes

Theme 1 - Teacher training programs (initial and ongoing)

In Québec and elsewhere, many teacher training programs (elementary, high school, special education, etc.) have undergone major transformations since the 1960s, in several areas: education faculties, curriculae, knowledge and competencies, relationships between education actors, and more. These transformations are evident in new education policies (professionalization, universitarization, etc.) and various reforms of the teacher training system. Today’s university system in Québec is the product of the reforms of 1994 and 2001, which resulted in extended training programs, improved integration of research, greater collaboration among schools and universities, and the rise of the competency-based approach. Furthermore this improved training system, although with certain timing lags, had to deal with major reforms of school programs and new societal demands for properly qualified teachers namely the ability to use computerized teaching and learning tools; the capacity to work in an increasingly multicultural environment, the requirement to integrate students with learning, developmental, and other problems, and the skills to cope with disadvantaged school populations, notably in major urban centers.

Theme 2 – Professional Insertion

Professional insertion into teaching as a career is a crucial. It is a time when novice teachers undergo job socialization, construct their professional identity, and consolidate their knowledge and skills. This transition demands the capacity to adapt to what are often difficult teaching conditions. In this respect, researchers, educators, and decision makers should be aware of some disturbing trends: teachers are increasingly leaving the profession after working for only four or five years (FCE, 2005); there is a lack of qualified teachers in subjects like high school math and science; and the legions of teachers who are retiring means that legions of new teachers need to be hired. The compelling issues are therefore to attract and retain well qualified replacements (MEQ, 2003), to provide them with a professional legacy (COFPE, 2002), and to breathe new life into a faltering profession (CSE, 2004). In Québec, although initial and ongoing training programs have been subjected to major reforms, the area of professional insertion is still being developed (COFPE, 2002; FSE, 2008). Yet successful professional insertion is essential for making the job appealing, inspiring teachers to pursue their teaching career, and developing good teachers, in addition to helping students learn.

Theme 3 – Education interventions

The education intervention encompasses all the actions that educators (teachers, teachers-in-training, interns, university professors, etc.) take in order to achieve educational goals in an educational setting, whereby they create favorable conditions for effective learning. At school, the education intervention includes planning (the preactive phase), the practice or intervention per se with learners (interactive phase), and assessment of the practice or intervention (the postactive phase). The intervention is a thought out and reflexive action in the sense that it involves reasoned planning and preparation. It is a complete regulatory action carried out by an actor (the educator) within a socially standardized framework (Couturier, 2001). The concept of educational intervention is intimately bound with that of mediation, because it involves a practical and regulatory interaction between learners, the curriculum, and a socially mandated intervenor (the educator). The concept of educational intervention therefore implies an action taken within a relational profession intended to modify a process or system.

Theme 4 – The teaching career

Who are the teachers and the other education stakeholders? What do they think about their jobs and how they collaborate? What is their place and power in the education system? How do they define their professional identity? What are their reactions to the many reforms and social changes that have affected schools in recent decades? These questions are central to this theme. In Québec and across Canada, educators play a vital role not only in the education system, but also in the socioeconomic system as a whole. They account for approximately six percent of Canada’s labor force, and they constitute one of the largest skilled professional populations. In Canada, some 320,000 qualified preschool, elementary, and high school teachers are responsible for 5.5 million students attending over 16,000 schools. In Québec, there are 120,000 educators working with a million students when you include the professional and adult sectors. Through their daily dealings with students and other education stakeholders, the school staff constitutes the cornerstone of the education system. They are the ones who take on the basic educational mission of preparing new generations of citizens and workers. In this sense, the socioprofessional conditions in which they work merit close examination, given all the profound changes that have taken place, which affect schools, students, and society.

Theme 5 – Digital Learning

The growth of digital learning signals and accompanies a profound transformation of developed societies: the emergence of the knowledge society. Computers are playing an ever more central role in all spheres of daily life. They are also wielding a steadily growing influence on how countries are evolving worldwide, with significant effects on the economic, social, and educational dimensions (Redecker, 2010). These far-reaching changes have accelerated with the advent of Web 2.0, with interfaces that allow web users to interact with page content and with one another. In the education field, the integration of information and communication technologies (ICT) into education has become irreversible. In terms of learning styles, these changes are seen in new learner characteristics. Redecker’s (2010) literature review identifies nine learning patterns that characterize the new generation of learners: constant use of technology, multitasking, individualization and personalization, greater connectivity (available anywhere, at any time), immediacy, use of a range of media types, engagement, work-oriented attitude, sociability, and new habits in response to new needs (e.g., digital literacy in order to successfully participate in a “smart” economy). The question arises as to whether new teachers are properly prepared to take advantage of the information explosion in the Internet era. Through investigations into the ICT integration process and the impacts on education systems, researchers are attempting to identify the strengths and weaknesses of teacher training approaches in the use of ICT tools in education. They are seeking the best integration strategies for teacher training programs, and they are exploring resistance factors in using ICT for education, in both teachers and learners. To this we may add the emerging trend of distance learning and massive open online courses (MOOCs).

La thématique du colloque

Le Colloque international en éducation : Enjeux actuels et futurs sur la formation et la profession enseignante est l'occasion de faire un bilan de notre champ de recherche, la formation et la profession enseignante, et d'en explorer les enjeux actuels, tout en pensant à des voies de recherche et de développement prometteuses.

L'objectif scientifique général de ce colloque international est donc de susciter des débats et des réflexions de haut niveau intellectuel autour de cinq importants thèmes :

  1. Les formations à l'enseignement (initiales et continues);

  2. L'insertion dans la profession;

  3. L'intervention éducative;

  4. Les professions de l'enseignement en milieu scolaire;

  5. Le numérique éducatif.

Ces thèmes forment un continuum qui couvre l'ensemble des processus constitutifs de la condition enseignante aujourd'hui : se former à l'enseignement (1); s'insérer dans la profession (2); intervenir comme professionnel en interaction avec d'autres acteurs scolaires et éducatifs, en lien avec la réussite éducative des élèves (3); enfin, œuvrer dans l'institution scolaire (4). Vient se greffer un cinquième thème, le numérique éducatif (5), qui est dorénavant un incontournable dans le domaine de l’éducation.

Ce colloque vise également des objectifs qui se révèlent des priorités pour l'ensemble de la communauté scientifique. Trois objectifs seront privilégiés :

  1. Regrouper des chercheurs de différents pays dans le but de mettre en commun leurs expertises et leurs travaux respectifs afin de favoriser des échanges d'idées et de connaissances et de susciter des débats et des avancées autour de thèmes et d'objets de recherche communs ;

  2. Assurer la diffusion des connaissances les plus actuelles sur la formation, l'insertion, l'intervention éducative, la profession enseignante et le numérique éducatif auprès des partenaires et organismes publics oeuvrant dans le domaine éducatif, ainsi que des agents de l'éducation : enseignants, intervenants, directions d'établissements, etc. ;

  3. Développer un réseau international de collaborations et de partenariats avec les chercheurs et les divers acteurs du milieu de l'éducation du Québec et d'ailleurs.

Les thèmes du colloque

Thème 1 - Les formations à l'enseignement (initiales et continues)

Au Québec comme ailleurs, les diverses formations à l'enseignement (primaire, secondaire, adaptation scolaire, etc.) ont connu depuis les années 1960 des transformations majeures sur plusieurs plans : établissements d'enseignement, curriculum, savoirs et compétences, relations entre les acteurs, etc. Ces transformations se sont incarnées dans de nouvelles politiques éducatives (professionnalisation, universitarisation, etc.) et à travers diverses réformes du système de formation professionnelle. Le système en place aujourd'hui dans les universités québécoises a été institué par les réformes de 1994 et de 2001, qui ont conduit à l'allongement des programmes de formation, à une meilleure intégration de la recherche, à une collaboration accrue entre les établissements scolaires et universitaires, et à l'essor des approches par compétences. De plus, ce système de formation a dû s'articuler, parfois avec des décalages temporels importants, à des réformes majeures des programmes scolaires et à de nouvelles demandes sociales en matière de compétences professionnelles exigées des nouveaux enseignants : capacité de travailler avec le numérique, d'œuvrer dans un environnement social et scolaire de plus en plus multiculturel, de favoriser l'intégration des élèves en difficulté, de faire face à des populations scolaires défavorisées, notamment dans les grandes zones urbaines, etc.

Thème 2 - L'insertion dans la profession

L'insertion professionnelle en enseignement est une phase cruciale dans la carrière enseignante, car le débutant s'y socialise au métier, y construit son identité professionnelle et y consolide ses savoirs et ses compétences. Cette période exige de la part de l'enseignant des capacités adaptatives importantes, car les conditions d'entrée sont souvent difficiles. À cet égard, quelques faits interpellent tant les chercheurs et les acteurs du milieu que les décideurs : de plus en plus d'enseignants délaissent la profession avant leur cinquième année d'enseignement (FCE, 2005), la pénurie d'enseignants qualifiés est importante dans certains secteurs (mathématiques et sciences au secondaire, par exemple) et de nombreux départs à la retraite créent un vide qui commande une embauche massive. L'enjeu est donc d'attirer et de retenir une relève de qualité (MEQ, 2003), d'offrir la profession en héritage (COFPE, 2002), voire de donner un nouveau souffle à la profession (CSE, 2004). Or, au Québec, si les domaines de la formation initiale à l'enseignement et de la formation continue ont donné lieu à des réformes majeures, le domaine de l'insertion professionnelle est toujours, lui, relativement en construction (COFPE, 2002; FSE, 2008). Pourtant, une insertion professionnelle réussie est essentielle à l'attractivité de la profession, la persévérance dans la carrière, la qualité de l'enseignement et, partant, la réussite éducative des élèves.

Thème 3 - L'intervention éducative

Par intervention éducative, il faut entendre l'ensemble des actions posées par un formateur (enseignant, stagiaire, formateur universitaire, etc.) en vue de poursuivre dans un contexte spécifique des intentions éducatives, en mettant en place les conditions les plus adéquates possible pour favoriser la mise en œuvre par les élèves de processus d'apprentissage appropriés. L'intervention éducative en milieu scolaire inclut donc la planification (phase préactive), la pratique ou l'intervention per se auprès d'apprenants (phase interactive) et l'évaluation de la pratique ou de l'intervention (phase postactive). L'intervention s'avère donc une action réfléchie et réflexive de rationalisation et de prescription; une action de régulation finalisée menée par un acteur (le formateur) dans un cadre socialement normé (Couturier, 2001). Le concept d'intervention éducative est indissociable de celui de médiation, car il implique une interactivité pratique et régulatrice entre des apprenants, des objets de savoirs (le curriculum) et un intervenant socialement mandaté (le formateur). Le concept d'intervention éducative porte ainsi en lui l'idée d'une action, dans le cadre d'un métier relationnel, qui vient modifier un processus ou un système.

Thème 4 - Les professions de l'enseignement en milieu scolaire

Qui sont les enseignants et les autres agents scolaires? Comment conçoivent-ils leur travail et leur collaboration? Quels sont leur place et leur pouvoir dans l'organisation scolaire? Comment définissent-ils leur identité professionnelle? Comment réagissent-ils aux nombreuses réformes et aux changements sociaux qui ont affecté l'école ces dernières décennies? Ces questions sont au cœur de ce thème. Tant au Canada qu'au Québec, les agents scolaires jouent un rôle capital tant dans l'organisation socioéconomique que dans le système éducatif proprement dit. Ils constituent environ 6 % de la main-d'œuvre active au pays et représentent l'une des plus importantes catégories de travailleurs exerçant une profession libérale et technique. Au Canada, quelque 320 000 enseignants réguliers des niveaux préscolaire, primaire et secondaire travaillent avec 5,5 millions d'élèves dans plus de 16 000 établissements scolaires; au Québec, environ 120 000 agents scolaires œuvrent avec près d'un million d'élèves en comptant les secteurs professionnel et adulte. Or, le personnel scolaire constitue, dans ses interactions quotidiennes avec les élèves et les autres acteurs éducatifs, la véritable pierre angulaire de l'école, car c'est lui qui assume concrètement la mission fondamentale d'éducation et de formation des nouvelles générations de citoyens et de travailleurs. En ce sens, il est nécessaire d'étudier les conditions socioprofessionnelles dans lesquelles œuvrent les agents de l'enseignement, qui sont confrontés aujourd'hui à de nombreux et profonds changements qui affectent les établissements et les populations scolaires ainsi que l'environnement social de l'école.

Thème 5 – Le numérique éducatif

L'essor du numérique éducatif signale et accompagne une transformation profonde des sociétés avancées : l'émergence de la société du savoir. Le numérique joue un rôle de plus en plus central dans tous les domaines de la vie des individus. Elles ont également une influence croissante sur l’évolution de l’ensemble des sociétés et affectent de façon significative les dimensions économiques, sociales et éducatives (Redecker, 2010). Depuis quelques années, ces métamorphoses se sont davantage accélérées avec l’arrivée du Web 2.0 où les interfaces permettent aux internautes d’interagir tant avec le contenu des pages qu’entre eux. Dans le domaine de l'éducation, l'intégration du numérique au système d'enseignement est désormais irréversible. Sur le plan éducatif, ces changements se manifestent par l’apparition de nouvelles caractéristiques chez les apprenants. La revue de littérature de Redecker (2010) recense ainsi neuf modalités d’apprentissage (learning patterns) qui semblent caractériser les générations actuelles d’apprenants : l’usage constant des technologies; le multi-tâche; l’individualisation et la personnalisation; la connectivité accrue (être joignable tout le temps et n’importe où); l’instantanéité; l’utilisation de différents types de média; un engagement et une attitude propice au travail; la sociabilité; et enfin, des habiletés nouvelles dues à des nouveaux besoins (ex. : compétences informationnelles pour faire face à l’augmentation exponentielle d’informations). On peut toutefois se demander si les nouveaux enseignants sont bien outillés pour tirer profit de l'explosion de l'information à l'ère d'Internet. En évaluant le processus d'intégration et l'impact du numérique dans les systèmes éducatif, la recherche s'efforce plus particulièrement de décrire les forces et les faiblesses des stratégies de formation des enseignants aux usages pédagogiques du numérique éducatif, d'identifier les meilleures stratégies d'intégration appliquées au secteur de la formation à l'enseignement et de mettre à jour les facteurs de résistance à l'utilisation pédagogique du numérique, autant chez les formateurs que chez les personnes en situation d'apprentissage. Ajoutons le contexte particulier de la formation à distance et des MOOC (massive open online courses).